"New Baltic Dance'15" Dance Film Competition Results
For two months, from 13th of February to 13th of April, International Contemporary Dance Festival “New Baltic Dance’15” was inviting Lithuanian artists to take part at the Dance Film Competition and create a dance movie that would be inspired by one of “Aerowaves Twenty 15” artists’ activity. In total there has been submitted 12 short dance films. Until the International Dance Day – 29th of April – we had been inviting you to watch the movies and help us to select the winner by voting for the movie you liked best. There has been 1291 vote in total for all the movies together and more than 9000 entry views.
Now we are glad to announce the winner, the movie that got the most votes/likes and has been awarded the invitation to the „Aerowaves“ performances (ID Dance Project "In Four Hands", Buchok ART Family "YesNoMaybe", Igor and Moreno "Idiot-Syncrasy") during the International Contemporary Dance Festival "New Baltic Dance" and 500 €.
The winning movie – “Art Gallery Dance” – got 420 votes. In “Art Gallery Dance”, fimed at M. K Čiurlionis National Art Museum and M. Žilinskas Art Gallery (Kaunas), you can see dancing three well known Lithuanian dancers: Marius Pinigis, Mantas Stabačinskas, and Laurynas Žakevičius. Idea and editing – Marius Paplauskas; camera – Nerijus Brokas.
Art Gallery Dance
There has also been a jury brought together. For an elegant fusion of body, movement, and image, they awarded “Water Month ” with the "New Baltic Dance'15" festival pass.
vandens mėnuo
Dance – Urtė Skrodenytė; choreography – Simona Šukytė. Inspired by Giorgia Nardin “All dressed up with nowhere to go”.
Jury members:
Eleanor Creighton – Europeoan dance network "Aerowaves" representative.
Rimantė Daugėlaitė – International Short Film Festival "Vilnius Film Shorts" co-organiser.
Marisa C. Hayes – screendance (dance film) artist, writer and curator, the founding co-director of the International Video Dance Festival of Burgundy and Body Cinéma.
Gabrielė Labanauskaitė – dramaturg, film director, co-organiser of the International Audiovisual Poetry Festival "TARP".

CONGRATULATIONS for the winners! And THANKS A LOT for all the participants!

Movies submitted for the competition:

• “Composition Harvest” (2‘12‘‘, 2015)
Creative team: Vesta Gineitytė, Vilius Jorudas
Composition Harvest
• “Direction” (2‘00‘‘, 2015).
Music, performance, camera, and editing – Agota Zdanavičiūtė.
• “Runaway” (6’27’’, 2015).
Idea and choreography – Elžbieta Savickytė; editing – Justas Urba; dance – Ieva Soriūtė.
• “Water Month” (1'36'', 2015).
Dance – Urtė Skrodenytė; choreography – Simona Šukytė.
vandens mėnuo
• “Exchange” (8’22‘‘, 2015).
Direction, script, and choreography – Arnolda Noir.
Exchange / Apykaita
• “Intero” (5‘24‘‘, 2015).
Creative team: Karolina Rimšaitė, Neda Prancikevičiūtė, Marius Grybauskas, Viktorija Kriučkovaitė.
Short Dance Film
• “===.” (2‘56‘‘, 2015).
Creative team: Marija Baranauskaitė, Gediminas Venckus.
• “Me – the other and the same. Which is real?” (10‘14‘‘, 2015).
Idea and choreograhy – Gabrielė Raudytė; creative team: Jonas Gricius, Aiva Krupelytė, Adelina Skalandytė, Roberta Linkutė, Živilė Beniušytė.
kita ir ta pati. Kuri tikra?“
• “Art Gallery Dance” (4‘14‘‘, 2015).
Idea and editing – Marius Paplauskas; camera – Nerijus Brokas; dance: Marius Pinigis, Mantas Stabačinskas, Laurynas Žakevičius; music: Zoe Keating- Lost; fimed at M. K Čiurlionis National Art Museum and M. Žilinskas Art Gallery (Kaunas).
Art Gallery Dance
• “1/10” (4'27'', 2015).
Created by Erika Vizbaraitė and Gabrielė Jaugelytė.
Inspired by Edhem Jesenković.
• “Platform Zero” (2'32‘‘, 2015).
Creative team: Matas Juodviršis, Kristina Kurapkaitytė, Elzė Vareikytė.
Platform Zero
• “The Wall” (5‘12‘‘, 2015).
Dance: Joana Čuiko, Andrej Novikov; camera and editing – Ieva Bernotaitė; music – Yranti Gazele.
The Wall
The Dance Film Competition is a part of the “Aerowaves Audience Development” project and thus is supported by EU Culture Programme.